Site icon Revista COMUNIC@ŢII Mobile

See the European 5G spectrum auctions postponed due to COVID-19

According to the 5G Action Plan of the EU, Member States are required to authorise the 700 MHz band by 2020, unless there are justified reasons for delaying it until mid-2022 at the latest.

5G spectrum auctions already took place in the three pioneer bands for 5G; all in all, at EU level, 13 countries have assigned spectrum for 5G in one or two bands. The 700 MHz band has been assigned in seven Member States so far including Denmark, France, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Italy and Sweden while the 3.4-3.8 GHz band has been assigned in nine MSs, in Austria, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Spain and in the United Kingdom. The 26 GHz band has been assigned in Italy.

Exceptional circumstances caused by the Covid-19 epidemic have forced some countries in Europe to postpone 5G auctions scheduled in the first months 2020. Four EU countries, Austria, France, Spain and Portugal have postponed spectrum auctions for 5G due to the Covid-19 epidemic so far. The Czech Republic also postponed its process but for different reasons. In Hungary, the 5G spectrum auction was upheld. It took place just one day before tight restrictions in activities and movements.

Additional postponements could be announced in the coming weeks, according to 5G Observatory, although countries with auction plans beyond April 2020 likely wait to know how the pandemic evolves.

Exit mobile version